Bruny Island Tour Prices and What Each Fare Includes
Bruny Island tour prices run from about $120 to over $1,000, and the spread is mostly about what the fare pays for. This guide sorts the Bruny Island day tours and the rest into price bands, shows what each band buys, and lists the extras and refund rules. Every fare is per person in US dollars, as listed, except the charter.
What does a Bruny Island tour cost?
A shared day from Hobart costs $120 to $261 a person. The cruise on its own costs $135 to $137. The private days cost $720 a person or $1,051 a group, and the 2- to 4-day bundles $224 to $460.
The island has no gate, so no fare includes an entry ticket, because there is none. What a fare can include is the ferry, a pass for the national park, lunch and tastings, and on a few days the lighthouse climb. The more of those it pays for, the higher it sits.
What do the under-$140 days buy?
The cheapest days cost $120 to $130. For that you get a guide, transport and the crossing, and on the guided walking days the park pass as well. You buy your own lunch and tastings.
- The hike, $120: about 8 km to the Bruny Arch, then tastings you pay for. The ferry is in the fare.
- The guided walking day, $128 to $130: the ferry and the pass, a rainforest walk and the lighthouse grounds.
- The shore excursion, $130: port pickup, with a pass line that also tells you to buy one. Ask at booking.
- Wild Escapes, $130: ten people at most, hotel pickup and photography.
If you eat lightly, these are the best value. If you plan to taste everything, add what you will spend at each stop before you compare them with the next band.
What do the $200 all-inclusive days add?
The next band costs $199 to $210, and the extra buys food. Every day in it puts lunch in the fare. The Safaris days add morning tea, three tastings, the ferry, the park pass and the lighthouse climb. The Pennicott tasting days pay for the food and drink on their itinerary. The cruise days trade the tastings for three hours at sea.
Against a guided walking day, you pay $70 to $80 more for lunch, the tastings and, on the Safaris days, the climb. For many people that is fair. The food days are compared on Bruny Island food tours, and the cruise days on Bruny Island boat tours.
How much is the cruise on its own?
The 3-hour cruise from the island costs $137 a person. Its other listing, with an optional bus from Hobart, costs $135. Neither includes lunch or pickup, and on the island-only version you drive yourself and pay the ferry per car.
The cruise day from Hobart costs $210 and pays for the bus, the ferry and lunch. If you already have a car on the island, the cruise alone is the cheaper way onto the boat.
Private tours: per group or per person?
This is where most booking mistakes happen. The private charter is priced per group, up to four people, at $1,051. Split four ways, that is about $263 each, before lunch and tastings, which it leaves out. You book it at least three days ahead.
The private Discovery day is priced per person, at $720 each, with a minimum of two. It pays for breakfast, a vineyard lunch, water, the ferry and park fees. For two people, it costs $1,440; the charter costs less but pays for far less.
Are the multi-day bundles better value?
By the day, yes. The 2-day bundle works out at about $112 a day, the 3-day at $114 and the 4-day at $115. A single guided day on the island costs $130.
The bundles pay for Port Arthur's admission, and the longer ones for a wildlife sanctuary, a cave tour and a treetop walk. None pays for lunch or a bed. The details are on Tasmania Bruny Island tours.
What is in the fare, and what is not?
- The ferry: part of every day from Hobart. The cruise from the island leaves it to you.
- The park pass: in the fare on the Safaris days, the guided walking days, the private Discovery day and the 2- and 4-day bundles. Check at booking on the 3-day bundle and the shore excursion.
- Lunch: on the food days, the cruise days and the private Discovery day.
- The lighthouse climb: on the Safaris days only; an afternoon option on the private Discovery day.
- Drinks: extra at meals on most food days, and extra on the Signature day.
How do the refund windows differ?
Most fares refund in full if you cancel at least 24 hours before the start. That covers the food days, the cruises, the walking days and all three bundles.
Two fares work differently. The hike needs two days' notice for a full refund. The private charter is non-refundable and cannot be changed once booked. If your plans may move, leave those two until you are sure.
What else will you pay on the day?
- Drinks with meals on the Safaris days, and extra drinks on the private day.
- Lunch and tastings on the walking days, the hike, Wild Escapes and the charter.
- The ferry, per car, if you drive to the cruise.
- A park pass if your fare does not include one and you enter the park.
- A lighthouse tour if you want to climb on a day that stops at the grounds.
Do the prices change?
Yes, over time. The fares here are the listed prices per person, and the booking page shows the live price for your date before you pay. Fares for the same day can differ between two booking sites by a few dollars.
The official fees move too. The Parks and Wildlife Service reviews its pass fees every year in line with inflation, and the figures above are those from 1 July 2026. Ferry fares are set by SeaLink and charged per vehicle, so check them before you drive. Lighthouse tour prices are set by the lighthouse tour operator; check them when you book.
What does every fare buy?
Here is every listing, cheapest first, with the lines that change the real cost.
| Tour | Fare | Basis | Ferry | Park pass | Lunch | Free cancellation |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hike with tastings | $120 | Per person | In the fare | Not stated | No | 2 days |
| Guided walking day, hotel pickup | $128 | Per person | In the fare | In the fare | No | 24 hours |
| Wild Escapes, up to 10 | $130 | Per person | Part of the day | Not stated | No | 24 hours |
| Guided walking day | $130 | Per person | In the fare | In the fare | No | 24 hours |
| Shore excursion | $130 | Per person | Part of the day | Check at booking | No | 24 hours |
| Cruise, island or Hobart option | $135 | Per person | Optional | Not stated | No | 24 hours |
| Cruise from the island | $137 | Per person | You drive | Not stated | No | 24 hours |
| Safaris day with hotel pickup | $199 | Per person | In the fare | In the fare | Yes | 24 hours |
| Safaris food day with the climb | $203 | Per person | In the fare | In the fare | Yes | 24 hours |
| Pennicott gourmet sightseeing day | $206 | Per person | In the fare | Not stated | Yes | 24 hours |
| Eco cruise day with lunch | $206 | Per person | In the fare | Not stated | Yes | 24 hours |
| Pennicott tasting day | $210 | Per person | Part of the day | Not stated | Yes | 24 hours |
| Cruise day from Hobart | $210 | Per person | In the fare | Not stated | Yes | 24 hours |
| 2-day bundle | $224 | Per person | Part of the day | In the fare | No | 24 hours |
| Signature day, up to 6 | $261 | Per person | In the fare | Not stated | No | 24 hours |
| 3-day bundle | $340 | Per person | Part of the day | Check at booking | No | 24 hours |
| 4-day bundle | $460 | Per person | Part of the day | In the fare | No | 24 hours |
| Private Discovery day | $720 | Per person | In the fare | In the fare | Yes | 24 hours |
| Private charter | $1,051 | Per group of 4 | In the fare | Not stated | No | None |
Some days appear twice, sold through two booking sites at slightly different fares. They are the same day, so book one.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest Bruny Island tour?
How much does a Bruny Island tour cost?
Is the private charter cheaper for a group?
Are the prices per person?
Can I cancel for free?
Is the ferry included in the tour?
How far ahead should I book?
The private and small-group days

Bruny Island Day Tour Private Charter Service (3 days in advance)
A private driver-guide for up to four, priced per group, with the return ferry and pickup from your Hobart accommodation. Book at least three days ahead; lunch and tastings are extra, and the booking cannot be refunded.
From $1,051 per group (up to 4)
Check Availability
Hobart: All-Inclusive Private Bruny Island Discovery Tour
A private day for your own group, from two people, with breakfast, a vineyard lunch, the ferry and park fees in the fare. The afternoon is your choice, and the lighthouse tour is one of the options.
From $720 per person
Check Availability
Signature Bruny Island Tour - Hobart & SE Tasmania
A small group of up to six, with pickup from a cruise ship or a central hotel. Stops at a bread fridge, a whisky house and a vineyard, with wine tasting when the cellar door is open; lunch is not in the fare.
From $261 per person
Check AvailabilityNext: Money settled? Pick your kind of day with our guide to choosing a tour. Every fare sits side by side on Bruny Island Tours.